Awards & Accolades

Active in the professional community and the Bay Area/Peninsula community at large, our attorneys have been consistently for their recognized for their hard work.

Northern California Super Lawyers


Most notably, four of our firm’s partners, George R. Corey, Stevan N. Luzaich, Dario de Ghetaldi, and Jerry E. Nastari were recognized every year between 2006 and 2015 as Northern California Super Lawyers, an honor given only to 5% of attorneys practicing in Northern California. Mr. Corey also received this award in 2005. Amanda L. Riddle was named to the Rising Star list, an honor limited to the 2.5% of the outstanding emerging lawyers in Northern California, in 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012, and the Super Lawyers list in 2013, 2014, and 2015.  Levon Sagatelyan was named as a Northern California Super Lawyer in 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015.  Jennifer E. McGuire was selected to the Northern California Super Lawyers, Rising Star list in 2014 and 2015.

Millbrae Business of the Year

The Millbrae Chamber of Commerce and the Rotary Club of Millbrae named our business the Millbrae Business of the Year in 2008.

Millbrae Man of the Year

Mr. Corey has been has been recognized time and time again for his efforts in both the professional and civic arenas. In 2005, the City of Millbrae honored Mr. Corey as the Millbrae Man of the Year. In celebration of the award, a dinner was held, at which numerous city and county officials spoke in endorsement of the honor. A celebration was also held in the streets of Millbrae, at which hot dogs were served to all guests and a drinking fountain, bearing a plaque engraved with Mr. Corey’s name, was unveiled next to a bench which also bears a plaque with his name.

George R. Corey Lawyer of the Year Award

In 2005, in recognition of Mr. Corey’s years of work as a trial lawyer and contribution to the San Mateo County legal community, the San Mateo County Trial Lawyers Association established an award his name: The George R. Corey Lawyer of the Year Award. To date, the award has been given to colleagues in our county such as Gene Majeski, Bernard Cotter, Frank M. Pitre, and Donald J. Dowling.

Guardian of Justice

The Legal Aid Society of San Mateo County presented Mr. Corey with its Guardian of Justice Award in 2001. This award is given each year in recognition of an attorney or firm whose commitment to Legal Aid is steeped in a commitment to justice for all the children, families and seniors in San Mateo County.

James M. Dennis Memorial Award

In 1997, Mr. Corey received the James M. Dennis Memorial Award. The award is presented by the San Mateo County Bar Association in recognition of the attorney whose courage and determination even in the face of adversity contributes significantly to justice in the community and raises the ethical standards of the Bar.

In 2014, Ms. Riddle received the James M. Dennis Memorial Award.  Though the past recipients of this award average some 33 years’ experience in the practice of law, Ms. Riddle received this award having just over 12 years of experience. However, during that time, she has accomplished a great deal.  Ms. Riddle served as co-liaison counsel for all plaintiffs in the PG&E San Bruno Fire Cases.  By the third anniversary of the massive explosion and fire, Ms. Riddle had secured settlements for 142 plaintiffs represented by her firm.  Amanda’s commitment to her community includes co-founding San Mateo County Bar Association Legal Clinic Committee, which provides on-site legal services to residents of homeless shelters on the Peninsula, organizing Lawyers in the Gutter, a fundraiser for Samaritan House, and establishing the San Mateo County Bar Association Barristers’ annual Holiday Dinner, providing low-income families with a holiday meal.

SMCBA Barristers’ Award

Amanda L. Riddle received the annual Barristers’ Award on September 22, 2015.  The award is given each year to a former Barrister (young lawyers’ section member) to recognize their outstanding contributions to the Barristers organization, extraordinary contributions to the public sector, service to the judiciary, or service to the legal profession. The Barristers’ Award is given during the Barristers’ Judges’ Lunch held at the Old Courthouse Museum in Redwood City. The first such lunch was in January 2006 when Ms. Riddle was installed as the president of the Barristers.